Wk 14 – Classmate Conversation – Garrett Ramirez

img_0180This week I had the pleasure of meeting Garrett. His is a fifth year student at CSULB (super senior) who is due to graduate this month. He will be receiving a degree in Communications. He enjoys skateboarding, attending music festivals, and tattooing strawberries on himself. I made a pun of his “strawberry” but he did not laugh.. I thought  large bruises were often called strawberries. Maybe its just in my family? He recently went to Coachella and enjoyed himself with friends. I simply explained Coachella is a place for millennials to do drugs and dance erotically. LOL. (not judging)

Anyway, Garrett shared with me that he a first generation Mexican American. He also speaks fluent Spanish, unlike me. I asked if he was the first to attend college in his family as I am and he said no. He is one out of five siblings with some who already have college degrees! I told him he has high standards to uphold. He just laughed and said, “Yeah.” His favorite artist/producer is Odesza but I still have no idea who that is.

I had a great conversation with Garrett and I wish we could have shared more giggles earlier in the semester. I wish him luck on all of his future endeavors.

 

Leave a Reply

