Wk 14 – Art Experience – Sketching in the Garden

 

Sketching in the Japanese Gardens has been my favorite activity hands down. When I walked to the Garden from the parking lot across the street, I was unsure of what we were supposed to sketch. This was actually my first time in the garden since I transferred  last year. Thank goodness for the activity because I am not sure I would have went otherwise. However, I am very glad I had the opportunity to visit.

The whole experience was extremely peaceful and relaxing. After the last year and semester, it was perfect to be able to wind down in the garden. The sound of the water fall and the birds added to the overall calming experience. I loved that the sketches were open to interpretation so we could choose which part of the garden was best for us. There was no pressure to do exact sketches because the requirements were mostly free sketch. We were to practice different types of sketching with minimal detail.

Overall, I would like to go back and practice sketching again, except I will not practice the sketch where I look away and try to draw what I see without looking down!

Leave a Reply

